Warning: Creating default object from empty value in /home/customer/www/roundrockha.com/public_html/wp-content/plugins/houzez-theme-functionality/extensions/redux/ReduxCore/inc/class.redux_filesystem.php on line 29

Warning: session_start(): Cannot start session when headers already sent in /home/customer/www/roundrockha.com/public_html/wp-content/themes/houzez/framework/classes/Houzez_Compare_Properties.php on line 16
Board of Commissioners – Round Rock Housing Authority

The RRHA has a five member Board of Commissioners consists of who are appointed by the Mayor, each of whom serves a two-year term. The board sets policy according to the U.S. Department of Urban Development (HUD) and governs the federally subsidized housing units in Round Rock. One of the five members must be a resident of one of the RRHA units. For the other four members there is no City residency requirement.

Current board members include Shelia Hyde, Dr. Bernard Buhl, Susan McKinney, and Tina Steiner Johnson.

Sheila Hyde, Chairman

Sheila Hyde is an accomplished auditor/analyst with more than 30 years of leadership experience in the government sector. She understands complex intergovernmental environments, values effective partnerships, and is very passionate about education and community development. Specializing in business process improvement, cost containment, and fiscal policy, Sheila works with stakeholders at all levels of state, federal, and local governments. At home, she has been active in many local boards, city commissions, and organizations including RRISD Partners in Education, Leadership Round Rock ISD, Round Rock Ethics Commission, and the Williamson County BCRC, just to name a few.

Sheila has earned both bachelor’s and master’s degrees in finance and management. When she isn’t glued to a computer screen or fundraising, Sheila spends time with her family, grandchildren, reading about everything, and learning to cook Mediterranean food.

Sheila was appointed as a Commissioner of the Round Rock Housing Authority in 2014.  She was elected Chair in 2015.

Pastor Bernard Buhl, Vice-Chairman

Pastor Buhl currently serves as founder and Pastor of the One Way Baptist Church (OWBC) in Round Rock, Texas. He has served as Pastor for 21 years.

Pastor Buhl has earned a Bachelor’s of Theology Degree and is currently working toward his Master’s Degree.

In addition to serving on the board at the Round Rock Housing Authority, Pastor Buhl serves on the Round Rock Community Task force; Executive Leadership team for the Williamson Baptist Association; and the Black History Committee of Round Rock. He has also been selected to serve on the Ethic Board of Round Rock. Previously, Pastor Buhl served on the board of directors of the Round Rock Servicing Center for 2 years.

Sonia A. McMasters, Resident Commissioner

Sonia was born in a very strong conservative Democrat home. Her father taught her the work of politics by introducing her to elective officials. When she turned 18 years of age, she was able to choose whatever party she wanted to join. She chose to assist her community within the Republican Party. She does not use this power to receive anything in life. She understands some of this is an advantage and works as a team member to help others. That is the part that she loves in her life. She is affiliated with the political groups listed below:

  • Sect. for the Republican National Hispanic Assembly – State Chapter for the State of Texas
  • Sect. for the Republican National Hispanic Assembly – County Chapter Travis/Williamson
  • Outreach Coordinator for the Texas Republican Assembly (Williamson County)
  • Pct. Chairman for Pct. 150 (Downtown Round Rock) and was prior Pct. Chairman for Pct. 436 (which is now 423 at Stony Point High School)

Susan Kinney, Resident Commissioner

  • Bio coming soon